The Julius Quartet w/ Cellist Andrés Diaz & Violinist Aaron Boyd

December 9, 2022 | 2:00 pm-3:00 pm

Performing Tchaikovsky’s String Sextet

The String Sextet “Souvenir de Florence”, is a string sextet scored for two violins, two violas, and two cellos. It was composed in the summer of 1890 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Tchaikovsky dedicated the work to the St. Petersburg Chamber Music Society in response to his becoming an Honorary Member. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled “Souvenir de Florence” because the composer sketched one of the work’s principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy.

The Legacy Midtown Park – Aaron Towers
Performed in the Max & Nolan Glazer Family Sanctuary
8240 Manderville Lane
Dallas, TX 75231