- - -

Leading By Example

Since 1953, our leaders have been involved and dedicated members of the Greater Dallas community who know how to get things done. We are fortunate to have their leadership and support.

These people have been, and continue to be, our greatest asset.

Our Leadership

Marc R. Stanley

Chair of the Board of Trustees of The Legacy Senior Communities

Melissa Orth

President and CEO of The Legacy Senior Communities

Marc R. Stanley is a trial lawyer, political activist, Jewish community leader and philanthropist from Dallas, Texas. He has 34 years of experience as a leading trial lawyer and 40 years of experience in government and public service, including his appointment as Chairman of the Texas Public Finance Authority by Texas Governor Ann Richards. Secretary of Defense William Cohen appointed Marc as a Member of the Board of Visitors of the Air University of the United States Air Force. In 2011, Marc was appointed by President Barack Obama as a Council Member of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Marc is the founder of the Stanley Law Group, a Dallas-based firm that focuses on national class actions and complex litigation. His career highlights include a landmark case against an insurance company for breach of fiduciary duties in handling 401(k) investments. In 2015, after 13 years of litigation and seven published opinions, the defendant paid $140 million in cash and $60 million in future economic benefits – the second largest reported settlement in the U.S. in 2015.

He is a member of the Board of Directors, and has served as President of both the Texas Trial Lawyers Association and the Dallas Trial Lawyers Association. He has been voted a “Best Lawyer in Dallas” and a “Super Lawyer” for the entire state of Texas every year since the accolades were established.

Marc served as a board member and leader of many Jewish charitable and political organizations, including six years as Chairman of the National Jewish Democratic Council. In his hometown of Dallas, Marc is also Chairman of The Legacy Senior Communities, Inc., a Jewish-sponsored not-for-profit charitable organization providing continuing care retirement communities and in-home care for seniors and their families.

Marc’s national public service began in college when he worked for the U.S. Congress for three years, serving with Representative Dale E. Kildee (D-Mich.) and with the Committee on House Administration as an aide to Chairman Frank Thompson (D-N.J.). In that role, he created the first Telephone Directory for the U.S. House of Representatives, serving as its Editor from 1977-1979. He later served as Dallas County Chair for Senator Lloyd Bentsen’s campaign in 1988 and Governor Ann Richards’ campaign from 1989-1990.

Marc and his wife Wendy have been married for 33 years and have three grown children. Marc supports and/or volunteers with a number of local Texas organizations, including the Jewish Community Center, Temple Emanu-El and the North Texas Food Bank. A health enthusiast, he enjoys exercise (especially hiking and skiing) and was a volunteer kidney donor.

Melissa is currently the President and CEO of The Legacy Senior Communities, a Jewish faith based continuum care community in Dallas, Texas. She was previously the COO/CFO of Greenhill School, a co-educational independent school serving 1300 students, pre-kindergarten through 12th grades, in Addison, Texas, from 2000 – 2017. She earned her B.B.A. from Kansas State University in 1986 and is a certified public accountant. Prior to joining Greenhill, she was the vice president of finance for the National Office of the American Heart Association and was a senior manager in the audit and business advisory division of Arthur Andersen LLP (TX). Melissa currently serves on the board of the Enrollment Management Association. Melissa also served as a member of the board of directors for the National Business Officers Association (NBOA) from 2009 until 2017, serving as Chair the last two years of her service. She was also a member of the board of directors for Independent School Data Exchange (INDEX) and a trustee of the ISAS Group Benefits Trust. Melissa currently serves as a member of the finance committees for the Dallas Women’s Foundation and St. Phillip’s School and Community Center. She is a past board member and treasurer for Planned Parenthood of North Texas and past finance committee member of the Susan G. Komen Foundation.

Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

  • Marc R. Stanley
  • Michael Glazer
    Vice Chairman
  • Fraser Marcus
    Vice Chairman
  • Sharon Levin
  • Paul Michaels
  • David Eisenberg
    Chair, The Legacy at Home
  • Jerry Rasansky
    Chair, The Legacy Preston Hollow
  • Linda Garner
    Chair, The Legacy Willow Bend
  • Stuart Morse
    Chair, Endowment Foundation
  • Carol Aaron
    Immediate Past Chair
  • Sandy Donsky
    Member at Large
  • Cary Rossel
    Member at Large


  • Bruce A. Bernbaum
  • Ken Bruder
  • Charlie Corson
  • Seth Davidow
  • Barry L. Friedman
  • Marion Glazer
  • Robert Goldberg
  • Dot Haymann
  • Sandy Kaufman
  • Amy Korenvaes
  • Bradley Laye
    Ex Officio
  • Liz Liener
  • Cindy Moskowitz
  • Elaine Pearlman
  • Daniel Prescott
    Chair, Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas
  • Stephanie Prescott
  • Helen Risch
  • Robert Rosen
  • Ruthy Rosenberg
  • A. J. Rosmarin
  • Marilyn Rothstein
  • Marilyn Schaffer
  • Ruthie Shor
  • Barrett A. Stern
  • Maddy Unterberg
  • Larry Wolfish
  • Mark S. Zale
  • Mike Friedman
    (Past Chair)
  • Irwin Grossman
    (Past Chairman)
  • Irvin L. Levy
    (Past Chairman)
  • Robert S. Miller
    (Past Chairman)
  • Robert G. Pollock
    (Past Chairman)
  • Gerald Ray
    (Past Chairman)
  • H. S. “Buddy” Rosenthal
    (Past Chairman)
  • Andrea Statman
    (Past Chair)

Executive Team

  • Melissa Orth, President and CEO
  • Brian Barnes, CFO/COO
  • Andrea Statman, Director of Development
  • Laura Levy, Executive Director, The Legacy Willow Bend
  • Charlene Bishop, Administrator, The Legacy at Home

Stay Up to Date with The Legacy e-News